how much do real estate agentsmake
To get your builders license and become a certified builder in Michigan, you must:
  1. Complete an approved 60-hour course.
  2. Submit an online application to the state.
  3. Register with PSI and pass your exam.

How much does it cost to get a builders license in Michigan?

Licensing fees

As we already mentioned, there's a $195 fee for applying to get your license. And you'll need to pay for your pre-license education, too (budget around $400 there). Finally, you'll pay a fee to take the exam. The residential builder's exam costs $117.

How hard is it to get a Michigan builders license?

You just need to do a few things: Complete the required 60 hours of prelicensure education at a LARA-approved institution. Send the state your course completion certificate, your Michigan builders license application, and the relevant fees. Be of good moral character (i.e., don't be fraudulent, deceitful, or dishonest)

Do you need a builders license to build your own house in Michigan?

The Michigan Licensing Law gives a homeowner an exemption to act as his or her own general contractor. This means in the case of his or her own single-family residence, that they will occupy, the homeowner may obtain a building permit for construction at his or her own home.

How long does it take to get builders license in Michigan?

Allow 6 to 8 weeks. In order to obtain a license as a Residential Builder, you must apply for licensure and examination with the Department and pass a Business and Law and Practice/Trade combination examination within one (1) year from the date your application is approved by the Department.

How long does it take to get a Michigan builders license?

Allow 6 to 8 weeks. In order to obtain a license as a Residential Builder, you must apply for licensure and examination with the Department and pass a Business and Law and Practice/Trade combination examination within one (1) year from the date your application is approved by the Department.

Do I need a license to be a contractor in Michigan?

A contractor must hold a current Michigan residential builder's license or show evidence of ability to obtain a license within six months. A contractor must demonstrate a history of having performed work of the scope and type required for the development.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long is a Michigan builders license good for?

3 years

When do I need to renew my license? Residential Builders and M&A Contractors renew every 3 years by May 31st.

How must a Michigan contractors license be renewed?

Renew your license online now at www.michigan.gov/mylicenserenewal. By renewing online, you may expect to receive your renewed license by mail within 5 to 10 business days, if all renewal requirements have been met. You must use a MasterCard, Visa or Discover credit card or e-check to renew online.

How often do you have to renew Michigan builders license?

Every three years

In Michigan, Residential Builder licenses must be renewed every three years by May 31st.

FAQ

Can you get a Michigan builders license online?

New home construction continues to climb, and the certification process is relatively simple! To get your builders license and become a certified builder in Michigan, you must: Complete an approved 60-hour course. Submit an online application to the state.

How do I get my Michigan builders license?

In order to obtain a license as a Residential Builder, you must apply for licensure and examination with the Department and pass a Business and Law and Practice/Trade combination examination within one (1) year from the date your application is approved by the Department.

What can you do with Michigan builders license?

This license is for contractors who wish to do any sort of contracting work on either a residential or a combination of residential and commercial buildings. This license covers demolition, home improvement, replacement, alterations, and repairs.

What to do to get my builders licence in michigan

What are the requirements for a builders license in Michigan? To get your builders license and become a certified builder in Michigan, you must:
  • Complete an approved 60-hour course.
  • Submit an online application to the state.
  • Register with PSI and pass your exam.
How do you pass the Michigan builders license test?

The Michigan Builders License Exam covers Business and Law as well as Practice and Trade content. There are 160 multiple choice questions on the exam and you must answer at least 116 questions correctly in order to pass. It is a closed-book test. No reference materials are allowed in the examination center.

Do you need a builders license to pour concrete in Michigan?

The following trades are required to have a Michigan Maintenance and Alteration Contractor License: Basement waterproofing. Carpentry. Concrete.

  • How do I verify a builders license in Michigan?
    • Visit LARA.gov (LARA stands for The Department of Licensing And Regulatory Affairs) at https://aca3.accela.com/LARA/Default.aspx and enter the individual and/or company name and select a license type, "Residential Builder", for instance.

  • Do I need a builders license to build a house in Michigan?
    • A. If you are operating as a Sole proprietor, you may operate with your individual license. b. If you are forming or have formed a corporation, limited liability company or partnership this is considered a new legal “person” and must obtain a license as a RB or M&A Contractor company.

Leave A Comment

Fields (*) Mark are Required